Friday Fictioneers: Sweet Maggie

jhardy

Photo courtesy: J Hardy Carroll

Sweet Maggie

Word count:  100

She was a shivery thing huddled in the corner, trying to appear smaller to the junkies who taunted and threw stones.  Even in my addled state, my heart broke.  I scooped her up, tucked her inside my jacket and fled the building with their jeers following.

Fourteen years ago, that kitten saved me; I took on a responsibility and I loved her.  We’ve been through a lot but no matter how far down the mental well I tumbled, she was right there to haul me up.

She died yesterday.

Helpless; hopeless, I’ve returned to chase the dragon one last time.

 

**For our cat, Maggie.  I’m so sorry.**

 

12 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Sweet Maggie

  1. I hope she remembers that the cat left her a legacy, not only to look after one, but all cats. There’ll be just another one who needs to bond. Hopefully it’ll slay the dragon before it’s too late.

  2. Now you don’t often hear about a kitty helping to save the day! It’s usually a dog. I love this. I hope Maggie comes back to her in the form of another cat to help her beat that dragon.

Leave a Reply

